domingo, 13 de noviembre de 2016

Letra 187: Concierto de trompeta y orquesta de A. Arutunian


(Armenian: Ալեքսանդր Գրիգորի Հարությունյան), also known as Arutunian, Arutyunyan, Arutjunjan or Harutiunian (23 September 1920 – 28 March 2012), was a Soviet and Armenian composer and pianist, widely known for his 1950 trumpet concerto.[1] A professor at Yerevan State Conservatory, he was recognized with many awards for his work, including the Stalin Prize in 1949 and People's Artist of the USSR in 1970, as well as numerous honors from his homeland of Armenia.


Arutiunian's concerto for trumpet was conceived of and written as a single-movement concerto with an extended lyrical episode.[5] The consists of seven major sections which are all performed without break:

  • Andante
  • Allegro energico
  • Meno mosso
  • Tempo I
  • Meno mosso
  • Tempo I
  • Cadenza & Coda

The melodic and rhythmic characteristics of Armenian folk music strongly influenced all of Arutiunian’s work but all of the melodies contained in the trumpet concerto are original (no borrowed folk tunes).